The buildings the Museum is now housed in were built in approx 1900 and 1930 and were occupied by the Road Board.
They were converted into a museum and opened to the public in 1971.
Over the years the collection has been added to and today boasts one of the best collections in any regional museum.
For nearly 50 years the Museum has been cared for by a group of volunteers, passionate about preserving the past. During this time they have rescued and preserved many items that would have otherwise ended up lost forever.
In more recent times volunteers have commenced the huge task of digitally cataloging the entire collection and at the time of writing the they had already recorded 3976 items. But this is only the tip of the iceberg with many more thousands of items to go.
It is not just the size of the collection, but the wide variety of things on display that is astounding. Items ranging from household objects, a mining display, war memorabilia, the Geldert Truck (likely the first truck in Collie), the horse drawn Golden Crust Bakery cart and old red pillar letter box to name a few.